Red-headed Woodpecker :)


woodpecker, Red-headed 006

A Red-headed Woodpecker, another first for me. First time to find one in front of my lens. Found this one flying around our camp site at Wellesley Island State Park while on vacation. I got a few decent and workable shots of him but nothing really great. Now that I know that they are up there I will look for them more in earnest next year. What beautiful birds they are!

woodpecker, Red-headed 005

Images #6 and #5 from August 28th.

10 comments
  1. Tiny said:

    That is a strikingly beautiful bird!

    • talain45 said:

      I’m glad you liked him šŸ™‚

  2. One day, I tried to take a photo of a red-headed woodpecker and found out it was much smarter than me! It kept going to the other side of the tree, directly opposite of me. No matter how many times I walked around the tree, the woodpecker kept shifting and moving right out of sight. After about 10 minutes of hide and seek with that elusive ‘pecker, I gave up. šŸ˜‰

    • talain45 said:

      Yep! he gave a little bit of that to me as well. I finally stead in one spot with the sun on my back , him in front and only then he would come back around. He is a tricky little one for sure šŸ™‚

  3. Leslie said:

    Beautiful! This is one of my favorite birds – they are magnificent. But they are getting more difficult to find. I only know of a few places now where they nest and one of them is on a golf course.

    • talain45 said:

      I have the same thing going on with three pairs of Red-bellied Woodpeckers in my area. I know were to find them when I want some more images of them and they usually oblige me. I wish I could find these Red-headed ones in my area like that as well. Thanks for stopping in Leslie, all love hearing your adventure and knowledge of things šŸ™‚

    • talain45 said:

      It was an interesting bird. Hope I can find it again next year šŸ™‚

  4. jbcamera said:

    Woodpeckers are very challenging to photograph. I have never even seen a Redheaded, let alone photographed one. Well done.

Leave a Reply

