Red-bellied Woodpecker #12


woodpecker, Red-bellied 012

A Male Red-bellied Woodpecker that I found up to the family farm this past weekend. He was calling for a female that was in the area as well. I saw the two of them together in the trees but could not get close enough to take any images of them together.  I captured this one with my new Canon EOS 70D camera that I’m still trying to learning to use but I do like some of the images I’ve been getting so far. It is very different from my old camera the Canon EOS T2i.

6 comments
  1. Wonderful moment, to have the bird free from branches before and behind, and with all these tiny feathers visible on his throat!

  2. Great shot! I use a 70D for my birding camera and 550D for general pics, I find the improvements on the 70D good, and works will with my L series 10-400 lens. The light sensitivity is the best so far with 70D than any previous EOS, but the feature i love the best is that when I take movie it stays focused on the subject as it moves, which is great for birding.

  3. This is a beautiful photo! I think you are doing a fabulous job with your new camera!

  4. Sheila said:

    Great shot of the Flicker; hard to get a good shot of one!

    • Thank you so very much Sheila 🙂 He was so generous with the time he gave me to capture him.

  5. I heard a woodpecker sometime last week in my subdivision. I’m thinking it was on someone’s house but hopefully it was a tree! I did have one pecking at my house maybe 10 years ago. Love your shot!

Leave a Reply

