An icy bath


Canada Geese 024

These are some images of a Canada Goose that I took shoots of why’ll he was bathing himself in the icy waters of the Susquehanna River last year about this time. I just thought that it was neat to watch the way the water just rolled off his back as he was bobbing up and down in the water. Surprisingly, there are no geese hear this year, they have all move on back in December. Usually we have a resident population that is hear all year long. Everything has pretty much frozen over hear and they have probably gone to more open areas south of use. We have had quit a persistent cold spell hear for some time now. Still thinking of spring and all the great gifts that it brings.

Canada Geese 016Canada Geese 017Canada Geese 019XCanada Geese 020Canada Geese 021Canada Geese 022Canada Geese 025Canada Geese 026Canada Geese 027

Hope you enjoyed them, have a great day.

12 comments
    • talain45 said:

      Nothing like a cold bath. I don’t think that I would have enjoyed it but at least I share something in common with that Duck. We are both quacked!! We are both still kicking and with a promise of perhaps a better tomorrow. Have a great one Laurie and enjoy, Michael 🙂

      • I believe ice cold baths are good for you. I’ll take their word for it. Well even though you’ve quacked up Michael, I do hope your tomorrows are definitely better.
        Laurie. 🙂

  1. Love the way you caught the water on the bird’s back!

    • talain45 said:

      I’m happy that I got close enough to capture the images of his performance. Thank you and I’m glad that you liked the shoots 🙂

  2. Lita Pixel said:

    Great capture but brrrrr looks so chilly.

    • talain45 said:

      Thank you Lita for your comment. A little cold at -6 that particular morning. We are having quit a little cold spell at least in this part of New York State, not really sure about the rest of the state.

    • talain45 said:

      I’m glad that you enjoyed the shoot freeda. Take care of your self 🙂

  3. I’m south of you in the Bay and even here we were frozen over and the ducks and geese must have moved south, looking for open water. I’m hoping some of the increasing resident flock will stay away.

Leave a Reply

