The restless heart of the sea


California 013

Waves crashing on the rocks on State Beach Ventura California. I wish I had something poetic to go with this.

THE RESTLESS HEART OF THE SEA by Debb Stanton

My soul, my heart, my life
is beautiful

Like the sun sparkling on the sea
as happy, dancing diamonds

Then the surf crashes against the huge black crater
and my reassurance disappears

Just like you did long ago
you left without saying a word

you were rock solid in deciding to end us
so much so that you didn’t even tell me

my cries and letters and calls to you
couldn’t wear you (the rock) down

it’s funny how the sun was out
and making everything look good

except for my life without you
you were very restless

Now I am very restless
searching for the answers

The watery waves of my heart
pound time and time again

is relief really nowhere in sight?
I want the music of the sea back

the gentle tones that calm me
and lead me home

home to my heart
where I will never leave me

I will never change my position on me
I will not hate and desert myself like you did

In fact, now I see the black crater as better
it gets very slowly worn away by all the crashing water

but remains strong and solid
that’s how I will now be

Restless no longer
I look forward to growth

so I can once again frolic like the waves
and enjoy the sounds and the seagulls

The sea has no room for pity
but it does take pity on restless hearts
and knows how to help them

19 comments
  1. Great shot. I haven’t been up Ventura-way past few years. Time for a re-visit! ~SueBee

  2. Keats wrote a famous sonnet that begins:

    ON THE SEA

    By John Keats

    It keeps eternal whisperings around
    Desolate shores, and with its mighty swell
    Gluts twice ten thousand Caverns, ….

    • I would be open to that Idea, sounds great!

      • THE RESTLESS HEART OF THE SEA by Debb Stanton

        My soul, my heart, my life
        is beautiful

        Like the sun sparkling on the sea
        as happy, dancing diamonds

        Then the surf crashes against the huge black crater
        and my reassurance disappears

        Just like you did long ago
        you left without saying a word

        you were rock solid in deciding to end us
        so much so that you didn’t even tell me

        my cries and letters and calls to you
        couldn’t wear you (the rock) down

        it’s funny how the sun was out
        and making everything look good

        except for my life without you
        you were very restless

        Now I am very restless
        searching for the answers

        The watery waves of my heart
        pound time and time again

        is relief really nowhere in sight?
        I want the music of the sea back

        the gentle tones that calm me
        and lead me home

        home to my heart
        where I will never leave me

        I will never change my position on me
        I will not hate and desert myself like you did

        In fact, now I see the black crater as better
        it gets very slowly worn away by all the crashing water

        but remains strong and solid
        that’s how I will now be

        Restless no longer
        I look forward to growth

        so I can once again frolic like the waves
        and enjoy the sounds and the seagulls

        The sea has no room for pity
        but it does take pity on restless hearts
        and knows how to help them

        ______

        Hey – hope this poem was not too morose. Let me know if you would like me to write a different one! Debb

      • Very Beautiful! I love it and it’s perfect, Thank you Debb 🙂

      • So glad you liked it and that it didn’t drag you down (or bore you to tears).

      • I sent you my poem in a comment just now. I was wondering — do I have your permission for me to publish your sea picture and my poem together in my blog?

        Debb

      • Yes, by all means, Enjoy 🙂

      • I will enter it into the May issue shortly. Thank you again!

  3. Simple rocks
    Sturdy masters
    Defiers of restless seas…

  4. ‘the restless heart of the sea’ looks pretty poetic to me… 🙂

  5. Wonderful blue sea transitioning into the grey blue waters. Quite a dramatic and emotional composition!

  6. awesome title for this powerful photograph, another muse fingal’s cave by mendelsson

  7. Snow said:

    The Restless Heart of the Sea

    No one ever knew for sure
    But speculation held the lure
    Of mermaids ruling the waves below
    If you look real close you’ll see their glow

    As they hurl the waves upon the shore
    In their attempt to open a door
    To the world above they’re unable to see
    But know it’s there, a mystery

    Crashing ships on the rocky shoals
    One by one, collecting their soles
    In frustration for being kept down under
    Listen close, you’ll hear their thunder ©

    • Thank you Creativebrushstrokes, that is a very nice piece 🙂

Leave a Reply

