One Year ago; Red Admiral Butterfly


Red Admiral Butterfly

Red Admiral Butterfly seen in early May in Broome County, NY.

It’s been an enjoyable first full year for Talainsphotographyblog, learning and understanding my equipment, the adventures I’ve gone on and interacting with my fellow bloggers. This was my first post a year ago yesterday. It initially received seven likes for this post from thisworldthrumyeyes, mydailey, michael121999, Patrick Latter, Rebecca2000, MF-Fine Art Photography and, Photographer Ravi. I remember taking the image at my brothers home at a family gathering. This year I have not seen any of these lovely butterflies.

10 comments
  1. Congratulations!! I am look forward to viewing more of your posts and your wonderful photos.

  2. I don’t see them very often, either. And for some reason I always think of the Red Admiral as my favourite.
    Congratulations on your first year of blogging.

  3. Congratulations, Michael. I am not sure what the stats are for people sticking with a blog a whole year, but I am pretty sure the percentage is low. You’ve manage to treat us to an amazing assortment of birds and butterflies especially over the past year and I look forward to another wonderful year with you.

    • talain45 said:

      Thank you Mike. If we make it another year, I think we’ll both be fallowing each others works.

  4. sylvia said:

    Congratulations. The best time of day to see these is just before twilight. I find that at that time of day, they like to land on small twigs or branches on the ground in forest clearings, and will be quite still, and easier to approach. Earlier in the day, they are often no where to be seen. They do nectar, but not as often and as long as other common species.The are definitely different in those regards. Hope you will spot them next spring.

  5. Julia said:

    Congratulations on one year! I’ll be coming up on that milestone myself soon, and I know how much work, fun and love go into it. Your posts are a joy!

  6. We have them here in the North of Germany as well, but they never are so many as Tortoiseshells or Peacocks;
    in September / October, they appear in the gardens to eat fallen fruit, so they are more to see, but always hard to catch by camera because of their breeziness.

  7. chatou11 said:

    Beautiful, we have this one over here.

    • talain45 said:

      Hello Chatou, good evening over there. I just found out that these are widespread on this latitude ranging through America, Europe, and Asia with several variations. Glad to hear from you, Michael 🙂

  8. Happy anniversary! I think you don’t see the Admiral this year because last year they were blown in on an unusual warm front. Before last year, they hadn’t been seen in that area for 15 years!

Leave a Reply

